A Well Stocked Kitchen!

It takes a while to get to this point.

With kids and their diverse tastes and my never ending interests in all types of cuisines, I never had what I needed on hand.

It drove me nuts to have to run to the store if I wanted to make something that wasn’t on the menu list.

I am finally at the point where I have established the type of food we love to eat and have a very well stocked kitchen.

I find that I can make almost any recipe I run across or imagine.

It may take a few substitutions or modifications but I’m there.

So what does it take to be in the “well-stocked” zone?

First an examination of the types of food you eat.

We do a ton of salads, veggies and simple animal protein.

Our meals center around basic, whole foods with little processing.

I rarely make the same thing twice but the difference in dishes may be the veggies, grains or spices used.

When I was all over the place taste-wise, it was too hard to have a well-stocked kitchen.

Imagine a well-stocked Italian kitchen, a well-stocked classic America-cuisine kitchen, a well stocked Mexican kitchen, you get the idea.

It is all about that “jack of all trades, master of none” thing I had going on!

Now that we are loving what we are eating I can create depth in what I have in my kithen.

If you were to look in my kitchen today, you’s see:  

Veggies:
romaine, kale, spinach, cabbage, Bok choy, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, cucumbers, tomatoes, scallions, red and white onions, celery, peppers, mushrooms, green beans, peas, snap peas, baby spring salad blend, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, ginger, leeks

Fruit:  
apples, blueberries, strawberries, kiwi, avocado, occasionally bananas

Herbs:
parsley, basil, cilantro, mint, thyme, rosemary and marjoram

Dairy:  
almond milk. coconut milk, coconut yogurt and yes some organic butter

Condiments:  
ketchup, mustard, a few jams, horseradish, salsa, wasabi, flaxseed oil, barbecue sauce, tamari, sauerkraut, pickles, miso,  and mayo (all organic)

Canned goods in other packages – not loving cans – you can get most of these things in jars, dried or boxed
beans, tomatoes, pasta sauce, olives, a couple cans of soup, apple sauce, artichoke hearts and a couple cans of tuna.

Baking supplies:
too numerous to name but all the basic stuff

Spices:
you name it I have it – if I don’t use it on a regular basis I buy a tiny jar but the popular ones I buy a lot of.  (Penzey Spices in heaven)

Grains and Pastas:
quinoa, rice, couscous, home-made orzo, wheat berries, oat groats, rice noodles, lentils, and non-wheat pastas.

Nut and Seeds:
you name it I have it.  I buy a little each time I shop so I keep my stock up without breaking the bank.

The key here is to analyze what you eat,  then create a list of what you need to have on hand at all times to be able to prepare those meals.

Need some help with this?  

In my two session”Meal Planning” program, you will learn how to create a plan that will  help you create a well-stocked kitchen, save you time and money on your meal preparation

Shoot me an email or give me a call! MindyKannon@yahoo.com or 203-210-7462!

Leave a Reply

