The Art of Floating!

Image

Like me I am sure that most of you are in constant motion.

Getting the kids off to school, running off work, family activities in the afternoons, buying groceries, doing the laundry, cleaning the house, paying the bills, taking care of aging parents and everything else that keeps life in order.

So when you have a chance to just….slow….down…..what do you do?

Read a book, watch the latest DVR’s episode of Scandal or pass-out on the couch?

I’ve been know to do any and all of those but..by far my favorite..hands down…

I’d rathe be floatin’!

Ahhh, give me a book, some bubble bath and a tub and I am chillin’

A shower is just not the same – it’s fast, efficient and functional.

A bath, well it’s just different, it’s heaven!

It’s relaxing, you know you’re going to be floating for at least an hour, maybe you’ll read a book or a magazine, meditate or listen to an inspirational seminar – it’s warm, cozy and elemental.

And depending on what you add to your bath your experience can be varied and have obvious health benefits.

Here are some ideas for your next bath

Lavender – relaxes and calms

Epsom Salts – reduces muscle stress and strain.

Apple Cider Vinegar –  soothes dry itchy skin or a bad sunburn, makes me want a little EVOO and some salad.

Baking Soda – calm itchy skin from poison ivy or chicken pox.

Citrus Oils – rejuvenates and invigorates your body

Lemon Juice –  tightens your pores and make you skin feel refreshed.

Ginger – eases muscle cramps and acts an awesome detox

Milk – moisturized dry skin but you do come our a bit stinky – kind of like a yogurt facial I did once, I spent the day smelling like sour milk – stinkeeee!

Oatmeal – treats skin irritations, itchiness and dryness.

Green Tea Bags – acts as a purifier and soothes irritated skin and gives you an all over wonderful feeling.

Alka Seltzer – reduces swelling and improves blood flow and I bet it feels really cool.

Hot Chocolate Bath –  cocoa, milk  and unscented bubble bath -okay this one may be my favorite and may need sharing or some whipped cream or marshmallows.

So take your showers when you need to get clean quick and race off and start your day, but take a bath when you want to start or end your day with an experience, a soothing all over wonderful experience.

What is your favorite bath additive?  Do you have a brand of bath oil or bubble bath you just love? Do you have any other common household foods or oils that you add to your bath? Share in the comments below, I know I will thank you for it!

Float on and Remember You Deserve to be Healthy!!!

MindyKannon.com

Image

Bathtub photo is from Freedigitalphotos.net

Leave a comment