That Didn’t Come From a Cow! Vegan Nut Cheese!

Broccoli with Vagan Cheese

 

Broccoli, Roasted Red Pepper, Kalamata Olives and Vegan Feta Cheese!

 

So your lactose intolerant and you can’t eat cheese.

I’ve tried to beat, ignore and dodge the aftermath of eating diary, which for me is cheese.

If you are affected by dairy you either end up sitting in the ladies room for hours, can’t go the bathroom for days or have gastric distress that makes going out in public rather, precarious.

I’ve eaten that coveted pizza then taken extra magnesium, fiber and gallons of water in hopes that my usual reaction to cheese would not occur….it always does.  Not pretty and many times down right painful!

So for the last couple of years I have avoided dairy completely. No cheeseburgers, pizza, lasagna, or grilled cheese!

I am a personal chef for goodness sake, a foodie but hey at some point the discomfort became much more important than the pleasure gained from eating cheese.

The alternatives like the weird plastic soy and almond cheeses you find at the grocery store kind of freak me out. They don’t taste or act like cheese so I won’t waste my money on them.

We recently started frequenting a few newly opened vegan restaurants that have cheese dishes on their menus.

The cheese is made with nuts and actually have convincing texture and taste.

My most recent fav is vegan feta made with cashews.

Besides being wicked easy it taste great and has that firm feta feel.  I am all about texture – I have a hard time with anything that is slippery or rubbery – ewww!

So here’s how easy it easy.

You take 1 cups of cashews and place them in a sauce pan, cover with water and boil them for an hour.

Make sure they are soft.

Drain and mash with a potato masher until small pieces remain.

Add a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, lemon juice, red wine vinegar, italian seasoning (I like Penzy’s Tuscan Sunset) some garlic, salt and pepper. Mix in well and let this sit for at least 24 hours.  It get better with age.  I just ate the last bite of a batch I made a week ago.  It was awesome.

Most vegetarian and vegan cookbooks will have a cheese recipe made with nuts.

I love The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook by Jo Stepaniak.  In her book she has recipes for Swiss Cheez, Gouda, Cheddah, Buffalo Mostarella, Muenster and Brie.  Most are made with cashews, some brazil or hazel nuts and a few have tofu in them.

So if your craving cheese, as I always am, and you either can’t eat dairy or know that dairy products are not very good for you, try making your own nut cheeses.

Please let me know, in the comments below,  if you have a recipe for non-dairy cheese that you really like!

You Deserve to be Healthy (and eat nut cheese!)

DSC_4822 - Copy

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

