Red Quinoa and Sautéed Root Veggies

Image

I am always looking for the easy fix.

I cannot wait when I am hungry.

What can I make fast when I am hungry and have for a couple of meals?

I had a whole bag of red quinoa hanging around, some root veggies..hmmmmm!

Image

1. 2 cups of quinoa in a sauce pan with 2 cup of liquid – I used veggie broth.  Bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer and set the time for 12 minutes. Check at 12 minutes and if all the liquid is gone – take off the burner and cover.  If there is still some liquid, add a couple minutes to the timer.  I recently read about how quinoa comes out better with less liquid, so I gave it a try – sooo much better! So remember the ratio of 1:1.

IMG_0620

2.  Slice – carrots, turnips, parsnips, sliced a red onion and quartered Brussels sprouts – add them to a medium sauté pan that had been coated with olive oil. cook on low, covered for about 15 until they start to brown.  Keep on eye on them or they will burn.  Done that a few times. Salt and Pepper to taste.

IMG_0623

3.  Dressing is 1/3 C red wine vinegar, 4 T olive oil, 3 T honey, 1 T garlic powder and 1 T dill.  Mix well and taste – add honey or vinegar until you love the taste – I love tangy so I add less honey…Pucker-up!

4. Dump veggies and quinoa into a big bowl.  Pour dressing over the veggies and quinoa and toss.

I am eating it right now – warm and damn it is good.

IMG_0640

Total active time, maybe 10 minutes depending on how fast you chop stuff!

Did I tell you?  Quinoa is high in protein,  an anti-inflammatory, provides antioxidants, high in healthy fats and tons of vitamins and minerals.

So don’t be eating junk food – this is fast food!

You Deserve to be Healthy!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

