Mac and “Cheese” The Healthy Way!

Image

I’ve been cravin’ some good old fashion comfort food.

I’ve been dairy-free (mostly) for about 4 years.

That means no more pizza, no more lasagna and no more mac and cheese, jeeze.

My personal chef clients also do dairy-free and I am sure they miss these classic comfort foods.

So I started playing with nut cheeses and nutritional yeast so I could attempt to recreate my favs.

Image

Now I am a firm believer in natural foods so pretty much figure, that I was not going to like this stuff, because “cheese” that’s not cheese is probably not going to taste like cheese, so why bother.

So, so far I have made a Cheesy Curried Cauliflower Soup, Basil Cashew “Ricotta Cheese”, Almond Cheese, GF and DF Lasagna and today, my first Mac and Cheese.

I like to start with recipes and make them the exact way the first time and then I start playing.

Today’s recipe was by the book. The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook by Jo Stepaniak

This recipe is fast and easy as most in this book are.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Preheat oven to 350

Cook a box of quinoa elbows according to the directions.  Do not overcook.

While the elbows cook saute a medium onion, diced and 2 cloves of garlic until soft.

Add the following ingredients to a blender:

1 c water

1/2 c cashews

1/2 c nutritional yeast

1/2 c roasted red pepper

1/4 c white wine

1/3 c lemon juice

2 t onion powder

2t garlic powder

a pinch of basil, oregano, thyme and rosemary

salt and pepper to taste

Blend until smooth

Add elbows. onions and garlic and sauce in a casserole dish, mix well.

Image

(at this point if you are missing your classic tuna casserole you can add tuna, maybe some peas mix well)

Place in the oven for 30 minutes, check to make sure that most of the liquid has evaporated.

Eat when it has cooled slightly! Super fast dinner.  The active time is about 10 minutes.

You can add all kinds of stuff to this to make a casserole, chicken, olives, peas and carrots, mushrooms or even steamed broccoli!

Let me know if you try this recipe and what you think and check out The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook by Jo Stepaniak.

Image

You Deserve to be Healthy!

Image

 

 

 

One thought on “Mac and “Cheese” The Healthy Way!

Leave a Reply

